Codes that work at checkout. 100% of our commission goes back to you as cashback.
Browse stores ›
Store policies · Black Friday Fri Nov 27
Price match policies 2026: which stores match a lower price, store by store
37 big US retailers, 28 of them with a policy page we could read. For each of those: does it match a competitor’s lower price, will it refund the difference if its own price drops, and does either rule cover Black Friday prices? Every answer links to the retailer’s own policy page; the other 9 are listed, each with the page we tried.
Last checked · checked again every week through the holidays · What changed
Of the 28 retailers whose policy page we could read, 12 match a competitor’s lower price only in limited cases (7 say they don’t and 9 don’t say); 19 refund the difference only in limited cases if their own price drops soon after you buy (1 says it doesn’t, Walmart for Walmart.com purchases only, and 8 don’t say); and 2 match a competitor’s Black Friday price only in limited cases (Ashley and JCPenney): 7 match no competitor at all, and 6 name Black Friday, doorbuster or holiday sale prices as excluded; 6 exclude Black Friday or holiday sales from their own price-drop refund (Apple, Newegg, Dell, Ashley, Staples and Michaels), 1 offers no price-drop refund (Walmart for Walmart.com purchases only), and 2 refund a Black Friday drop only in limited cases (Costco and JCPenney). 9 more are listed, each with the page we could not open.
Does your store price match? The short answers
Does Target price match?
No. Matches only Target’s own lower price (Target.com, Target stores, Target Circle deals). It stopped matching other retailers in July 2025.
Price drop after you buy: limited. If Target’s own price drops within 14 days of purchase, ask for the difference with the receipt (physical or digital) or packing slip: at Guest Services in a store, or by chat or phone for Target.com and app purchases. Clearance, closeout, liquidation and refurbished items are excluded.
Limited. Matches the current price of listed online and local competitors on new items sold by Best Buy (not clearance, refurbished or open-box), except special daily or hourly sales.
Price drop after you buy: limited. If Best Buy lowers its own price during the return and exchange period, it matches the lower price on request; limited-quantity, clearance and open-box items are excluded.
No. Says it doesn’t offer price matching compensation.
Price drop after you buy: not stated. Its pricing page doesn’t describe a refund when Amazon’s own price drops; it links a separate Pre-Order Price Guarantee.
No. Does not price match other businesses or retailers.
Price drop after you buy: limited. Costco.com purchases that drop in price within 30 days are eligible; for items on a dated promotion, ask during the promotion. A Costco.com purchase is never matched to a warehouse price; for a warehouse purchase, ask at that warehouse’s Returns counter. Precious metals are excluded, and Costco may deny a request at its discretion.
Not stated. Its U.S. retail sales policy doesn’t mention other retailers’ prices.
Price drop after you buy: limited. If Apple cuts the price of an Apple-branded product within 14 calendar days of delivery, ask within 14 days of the change for the difference. Apple-branded products only; limited-time reductions and special sales events are excluded.
Does not match competitors’ prices. In a Walmart store it matches the price of the identical item on Walmart.com, if you ask at checkout. (Ask Walmart, Walmart.com help, Walmart policy)
Refunds a price drop?
No
Walmart.com purchases that later drop in price are not matched. In a store, the match is made only at checkout. (Walmart.com help, Walmart policy)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
No
It matches no competitor at all. In a store it won’t match Walmart.com prices on special events, naming Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals. (Walmart policy)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
No
It offers no price-drop refund on Walmart.com purchases. In a store, its checkout match of Walmart.com prices excludes special events, naming Black Friday and Cyber Monday deals. (Walmart.com help, Walmart policy)
Matches only Target’s own lower price (Target.com, Target stores, Target Circle deals). It stopped matching other retailers in July 2025. (Target help, ABC News)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
If Target’s own price drops within 14 days of purchase, ask for the difference with the receipt (physical or digital) or packing slip: at Guest Services in a store, or by chat or phone for Target.com and app purchases. Clearance, closeout, liquidation and refurbished items are excluded. (Target help)
Costco.com purchases that drop in price within 30 days are eligible; for items on a dated promotion, ask during the promotion. A Costco.com purchase is never matched to a warehouse price; for a warehouse purchase, ask at that warehouse’s Returns counter. Precious metals are excluded, and Costco may deny a request at its discretion. (Costco.com help)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
No
It matches no competitor at all. Its Holiday Savings Promotions rule is for its own Costco.com price drops (next column). (Costco help, Costco.com help)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
Limited
Black Friday isn’t named. On Costco.com, Holiday Savings Promotions are covered only if you ask during the promotion’s dates and within 30 days of purchase. (Costco.com help)
Matches the current price of listed online and local competitors on new items sold by Best Buy (not clearance, refurbished or open-box), except special daily or hourly sales. (Best Buy)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
If Best Buy lowers its own price during the return and exchange period, it matches the lower price on request; limited-quantity, clearance and open-box items are excluded. (Best Buy)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
2025A Holiday Price Match Guarantee ran throughout the 2025 holiday season: if Best Buy’s price went lower, it matched it. Some exclusions applied. (Best Buy holiday FAQ)
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
No
Excludes competitor prices marked as Black Friday pricing, and any item for sale at a competitor from the Thursday before Thanksgiving through the Monday after. (Best Buy)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
Not stated
Black Friday isn’t named: if Best Buy lowers its own price during the return and exchange period, it matches the lower price on request, but not on items advertised as limited quantity. Its Black Friday exclusion covers competitor prices only. (Best Buy)
Its U.S. retail sales policy doesn’t mention other retailers’ prices. (Apple)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
If Apple cuts the price of an Apple-branded product within 14 calendar days of delivery, ask within 14 days of the change for the difference. Apple-branded products only; limited-time reductions and special sales events are excluded. (Apple)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
Not stated
Its policy doesn’t mention other retailers’ prices; its Black Friday exclusion is for Apple’s own price drops (next column). (Apple)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
No
The price-drop refund excludes limited-time reductions and special sales events such as Black Friday. (Apple)
Prices on other sites (Amazon, Best Buy, Walmart, Target) are excluded. (Newegg)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
If Newegg’s own price drops within 7 calendar days, it credits the difference as a Newegg Customer Care card; clearance, closeout and major holiday sale prices are excluded. (Newegg)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
No
It matches no competitor at all. Its Black Friday exclusion is for its own price drops (next column). (Newegg)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
No
The price-drop credit excludes major holiday sale prices, naming Black Friday, Cyber Monday and doorbusters. (Newegg)
Matches identical products at listed retailer websites within 30 days of invoice; for PCs the match is capped. Flash, clearance, closeout and holiday prices and custom configurations are excluded. (Dell)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
If Dell.com shows a lower price within 30 days after purchase, Dell refunds the difference; flash, clearance, closeout and holiday prices and custom configurations are excluded. (Dell)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
No
Excludes special seasonal or holiday offers and doorbuster prices. (Dell)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
No
Its 30-day price guarantee excludes special seasonal or holiday offers. (Dell)
Samsung may match. TVs, projectors, audio, monitors, storage and home appliances: listed retailers. Phones, tablets, laptops and wearables: only Samsung.com and the Shop Samsung app. Membership retailers such as Costco and Sam’s Club are not eligible. (Samsung)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
For phones, tablets, laptops and wearables, Samsung may match an order to a lower Samsung.com or Shop Samsung app price until delivery or within the 15-day return window; a match on an order already placed is paid as a refund. (Samsung)
Its pricing help page doesn’t mention competitors’ prices. (Menards)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
In a Menards store only: a sale price adjustment if you bought within 14 days before a flyer sale started, with the original receipt, paid as a Menards merchandise credit check that can’t be used on MENARDS.COM; end-of-season and closeout items are excluded. (Menards)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
Not stated
Its page doesn’t mention competitors’ prices; its special-promotion exclusion is for its own sale price adjustment (next column). (Menards)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
Not stated
Not mentioned; end-of-season, closeout and special promotions are excluded. (Menards)
Matches Amazon.com only, for identical in-stock items sold and fulfilled by Amazon, on online orders only (for an in-store purchase, call that store for its own price match policy); not clearance, flash or limited-quantity offers, or damaged, used or refurbished items. (Ashley)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
AshleyFurniture.com purchases only: if AshleyFurniture.com lists your item lower within 30 days of purchase, it adjusts the price; Ashley has the final say, and clearance, flash and limited-quantity items are excluded. (Ashley)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
Limited
Amazon.com matches from Thanksgiving Day through Cyber Week are at Ashley’s discretion and may be limited in quantity. (Ashley)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
No
Its own price-drop adjustment excludes Black Friday, Cyber Week and holiday promotions. (Ashley)
It says it doesn’t price match other retailers. (Nordstrom)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
If Nordstrom lowers the price of an item you bought at full price, it adjusts the price on request within 10 days of your in-store purchase or shipment date, while the same color and size are still available. Items bought on sale are excluded. (Nordstrom)
Black Friday isn’t named. Only items bought at full price are adjusted; items in Nordstrom savings events and Anniversary Sales are eligible while the same color and size are still available. (Nordstrom)
Matches any retailer’s current advertised price, in store and online, including items sold by Amazon.com (not marketplaces, third-party sellers or auctions), in the continental U.S. Competitors’ special, clearance, liquidation and closeout prices and open-box, display, outlet or used merchandise are excluded. (JCPenney)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
If a lower advertised price, a JCPenney ad included, is still valid within 14 days of purchase, bring the ad and your receipt and JCPenney reimburses the difference. Its match of JCPenney.com prices doesn’t apply to clearance pricing. (JCPenney)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
Limited
It has no blackout dates: its price match guarantee runs all year, including Black Friday. A competitor’s special or bundled offers, clearance and closeout prices, and prices that require a club or loyalty card are not matched. (JCPenney)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
Limited
It has no blackout dates, including Black Friday; a lower advertised price still valid within 14 days of purchase is reimbursed. Prices that require a club or loyalty card are not matched, and its match of JCPenney.com prices doesn’t apply to clearance pricing. (JCPenney)
In a store: matches listed competitors (Office Depot/OfficeMax, Target, Walmart, Best Buy, Amazon.com, FedEx Office, The UPS Store) and Staples.com. On Staples.com: a different list (Grainger, Office Depot/OfficeMax, Target, Walmart, Best Buy, Amazon.com, Quill, WB Mason, Uline). Closeout, clearance and liquidation products and holiday sale offers are excluded. (Staples)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
In a store: tell Staples within 14 days that the item is lower in its stores or at Staples.com, with the receipt, and it refunds the difference. On Staples.com: within 14 days, with the order number, it refunds the difference to a lower Staples.com price, but not to a store price except for buy-online-pick-up-in-store orders. Closeout, clearance and liquidation products and holiday sale offers are excluded. (Staples)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
No
Holiday sale offers including Black Friday and Cyber Monday are excluded. (Staples)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
No
The same exclusion covers a match after purchase: holiday sale offers including Black Friday and Cyber Monday. (Staples)
Office Depot and OfficeMax stores and OfficeDepot.com match a lower price on a new, identical, in-stock item at a qualifying retailer, at the time of purchase or within 14 days after. Closeout, clearance and liquidation items, special orders, location-specific offers and holiday sale offers are excluded. (Office Depot)
Refunds a price drop?
Not stated
Its price match covers competitors’ prices, including within 14 days after purchase; it doesn’t describe a refund when Office Depot’s own price drops. (Office Depot)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
No
Holiday sale offers including Black Friday and Cyber Monday are excluded. (Office Depot)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
Not stated
It doesn’t describe a refund when its own price drops; its Black Friday exclusion is for competitor prices (previous column). (Office Depot)
Its price adjustment page doesn’t mention competitors. (Gap)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
A one-time price adjustment within 14 days of the order date, refunded to your original payment. Items bought with a promo code or other discount aren’t eligible (a free-shipping-only discount is fine), nor are final-sale items. An online purchase can’t be adjusted in a store. (Gap)
Its price adjustment page doesn’t mention competitors. (Old Navy)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
A one-time price adjustment within 14 days of the order date. Items bought with a promo code or other discount aren’t eligible (a free-shipping-only discount is fine), nor are final-sale items. An online purchase can’t be adjusted in a store. (Old Navy)
Matches identical in-stock items from direct-seller competitors in pet, grocery, pharmacy and big-box retail; not on pets or services, and not clearance, liquidation or special-event prices. (PetSmart)
Refunds a price drop?
Not stated
Its Price Match Promise doesn’t describe a refund after purchase. (PetSmart)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
Not stated
Black Friday isn’t named; clearance, liquidation and other special-event prices are excluded. (PetSmart)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
Not stated
It doesn’t describe a refund after purchase; its special-event exclusion is for competitor prices (previous columns). (PetSmart)
Michaels.com orders only: within 7 days of purchase, it matches a lower price for the identical item at listed online retailers (At Home, Hobby Lobby, Home Depot, Kohl’s, Lowe’s, Office Depot, Popshelf, Staples, Target, Walmart). In a store it matches no competitor, only the Michaels.com price. Technology products and clearance, closeout, doorbuster and limited-time prices are excluded. (Michaels)
Refunds a price drop?
Limited
Michaels.com orders only: if you find a current lower Michaels.com price within 7 days of purchase, call Customer Service and it adjusts your payment; stores can’t adjust a Michaels.com order. Technology products and clearance, closeout and doorbuster items are excluded. (Michaels)
Holiday 2026: Not announced yet
Matches a competitor’s Black Friday price?
No
Its online price guarantee excludes doorbuster, special-buy and limited-time prices; in a store it matches no competitor. (Michaels)
Refunds a Black Friday drop in its own price?
No
Its online price adjustment excludes doorbuster, special-buy and limited-time prices. (Michaels)
In a store only: it honors a competitor’s ad that lists a specific price for the exact item it stocks; competitors’ ads aren’t honored online. Holiday doorbuster ads, clearance and closeout items, Cricut, Silhouette, Sizzix and Cuttlebug, and Simplicity and McCall’s patterns are excluded. (Hobby Lobby competitor ads)
Every answer links to where we read it: the retailer’s own policy or help page. When a retailer changed its policy, we also link a national news report that quotes the retailer.
“Yes” means the retailer’s page says it does this. “Limited” means it does, but only against named stores, only in certain cases, or only for some items; the note says which. “No” means the page says it doesn’t. “Not stated” means the page doesn’t say either way.
Policies change. Each row shows the date we last read that retailer’s page, and the retailer’s own page wins over ours.
Holiday price guarantees are announced each season. Until a retailer posts its 2026 terms, that line says “Not announced yet”.
No retailer paid to be on this page, and none of the links on it are affiliate links.
What changed
: Nordstrom’s pricing policy now says it doesn’t price match other retailers (it used to adjust a price to a listed competitor’s markdown), and its own price adjustment now covers in-store purchases and items in its savings events. JCPenney, Michaels, Office Depot and Hobby Lobby are now answered from their own policy pages; JCPenney says its price match has no blackout dates, Black Friday included. No retailer has posted a 2026 holiday price guarantee yet.
: Answer-first blocks for the stores people search for by name (Target, Walmart, Best Buy, Amazon, Costco, Apple). We re-read those stores’ own policy pages again; nothing we could read had changed, and Target still matches only its own prices. Walgreens, Ulta and CVS are added from their own help pages.
: Every answer re-checked against our own definitions of “Yes” and “Limited”, with the retailer’s words for each limit kept on file. Best Buy, B&H Photo, Staples and PetSmart now match a competitor’s price in limited cases, and every price-drop refund here has limits. Black Friday is now two columns: a competitor’s Black Friday price, and a Black Friday drop in the store’s own price.
: First edition: 34 retailers. We read 21 retailers’ own policy pages; 13 pages would not open for us, and those rows say so. No retailer has posted a 2026 holiday price guarantee yet.
Cite this page
Tenmomo, "Price match policies 2026, store by store", last checked October 5, 2026, https://tenmomo.com/price-match-policies
As of October 5, 2026, none of the 28 retailers whose policy page we could read matches a competitor’s lower price without limits. 12 match in limited cases: BJ's Wholesale Club, Best Buy, Dell, B&H Photo, Samsung, Ashley, JCPenney, Staples, Office Depot & OfficeMax, PetSmart, Michaels and Hobby Lobby. 7 say they don’t match competitors: Walmart, Target, Amazon, Costco, Newegg, Nordstrom and REI. The other 9 don’t say.
Do stores price match Black Friday prices?
2 of the 28 retailers here match a competitor’s Black Friday price only in limited cases (Ashley and JCPenney). 6 name Black Friday, doorbuster or holiday sale prices as excluded (Best Buy, Dell, Staples, Office Depot & OfficeMax, Michaels and Hobby Lobby). 7 don’t match competitors at all (Walmart, Target, Amazon, Costco, Newegg, Nordstrom and REI). The other 13 don’t say. If the store’s own price drops on Black Friday after you buy: 6 exclude Black Friday or holiday sales from their price-drop refund (Apple, Newegg, Dell, Ashley, Staples and Michaels); 2 refund it only in limited cases (Costco and JCPenney); 1 offers no price-drop refund (Walmart for Walmart.com purchases only); the other 19 don’t say.
What is a price adjustment?
A refund of the difference when the store’s own price drops soon after you buy. 19 of the 28 retailers here offer one, all with limits: Target, Costco, Best Buy, Apple, Newegg, Dell, B&H Photo, Samsung, Menards, Ashley, Macy's, Nordstrom, JCPenney, Staples, REI, Gap, Old Navy, J.Crew and Michaels. 1 says it doesn’t (Walmart for Walmart.com purchases only). The other 8 don’t say. The window is set by each store; see its row.